e-mail me

ISSA award winners

Corky Lamm Indiana Sportswriter of the Year

2012Pete DiPrimio, Fort Wayne News-Sentinel
2011Bill Beck, Elkhart Truth
2010Doug Zaleski, Muncie Star-Press
2009Mike Beas, Anderson Herald-Bulletin
2008Phil Richards, Indianapolis Star
2007Mike Lopresti, Gannett News Service
2006Ben Smith, Fort Wayne Journal-Gazette
2005Pat McKee, Indianapolis Star
2004Andy Amey, Terre Haute Tribune-Star
2003Al Hamnik, Times of Northwest Indiana
2002Jan Clark, Richmond Palladium-Item
2001David Haugh, South Bend Tribune
1998Bob Bridge, Bedford Times-Mail
1992Jim Russell, Indianapolis News
1991Jeff Washburn, Lafayette Journal and Courier
1989Dan Rooney, Muncie Star
1988Jim Russell, Indianapolis News
1987Ed Hamilton, Anderson Herald
1982Rex Kirts, Bloomington Herald-Telephone
1981Bob Hammel, Bloomington Herald-Telephone
1979Dennis Kraft, Elkhart Truth
1978Jake Lake, Marion Chronicle-Tribune
1977Rex Kirts, Bloomington Herald-Telephone
1976Bob Williams, Indianapolis Star
1974Don Cronin, Anderson Bulletin
1971Bob Barnet, Muncie Star

Given annually by the ISSA, the Sportwriter of the Year award recognizes one of the state's outstanding sportswriters. It is named for Corky Lamm, a four-time Sportswriter of the Year who was a legendary writer and cartoonist with the Indianapolis News.

Marv Bates Indiana Sportscaster of the Year

2012Johnny McCrory, WSVX-Shelbyville
2011Myron Rainey, WBIW-Bedford
2010Dan Egierski, WYFX-Evansville
2009Tony Kale, WCLS-Bloomington
2008John Montgomery, WNDI-Sullivan
2007Rita Price Simpson, WRSW-Warsaw
2006Mike Knezevich, Regional Radio Sports Network
2005Paul Condry, Regional Radio Sports Network
2004Chris Denari, Butler University
2003Tom Rust, WQRZ-Columbus
2002Howard Kellman, Indianapolis Indians/WHMB-TV
2001Ed Thurman, WGOM-Marion
1998Joe Smith, WGCL-Bloomington
1991Bill Stanczykiewicz, WLHN-Anderson
1989Morry Mannies, WLBC-Muncie
1988Charlie Jenkins, WXVW-Jeffersonville
1982Vic Tanguy, Logansport
1981Charlie Jenkins, WXVW-Jeffersonville
1979Jerry Baker, WIBC-Indianapolis
1978Charlie Jenkins/Bob Simmers
1977Don Fischer, WIRE-Indianapolis
1976Don Fischer, WIRE-Indianapolis
1974Sam Roberts, WHBU-Anderson
1971John DeCamp, Purdue University

Given annually by the ISSA, the Sportscaster of the Year award recognizes one of the state's outstanding sports broadcasters. It is named for Marv Bates, the Evansville radio announcer who perished in 1977 in a plane crash carrying the UE men's basketball team.

Bob Williams Helping Hand Award

2012Tom Zupancic, Indianapolis Colts
2011Jason Wille, IHSAA
2010Jim McGrath, Butler University
2009John Heisler, University of Notre Dame
2008Tom Schott, Purdue University
2007Dave Land, Indiana Football Coaches Association
2006Bill York, Indiana Pacers/Fever/Indianapolis Colts/Indianapolis Motor Speedway
2002John Miley, Evansville

Given occasionally by the ISSA, the Helping Hand Award is given to someone who is not a sportswriter or sportscaster, but whose contributions are invaluable to the state's sports media. It is named for Bob Williams, who was the sports information director of the IHSAA after a long career in print journalism.

Joe Boland Award (Service to the Youth of Indiana)

2003Bruce Litton, Hobart
2002Bill Stancykiewicz, Indiana Youth Institute
2001Jim & Jill Langford, Lakeville
1991Phil Buck, Anderson Madison Heights HS
1989Charlie Hughes, Anderson Sertoma
1988Herb Dukes, Bloomington
1985Garry Donna, Hoosier Basketball Magazine
1982Bob Barnet, Muncie Star
1981Clarence Young
1979Howard Sharpe, Terre Haute Gerstmeyer/North HS
1978Marion Crawley, Lafayette Jefferson HS
1977Billy Keller, Indiana Pacers
1976Phil Eskew, IHSAA
1976Harry Rinier, Indianapolis Star
1974Bob Williams, Indianapolis Star
1972Cabby O'Neill, Jasper HS
1971Dan Scism, Evansville Courier
1970Angus Nicoson, Indiana Central College
1969Tony Hinkle, Butler University
1968Charles Dagwell, Indianapolis Tech HS
1967Gordon Graham, Lafayette Journal and Courier
1966Don Odle, Taylor University
1965Arad McCutchan, Evansville College
1964Bob Woodworth, Purdue University
1963L.V. Phillips, IHSAA
1962William F. Fox Jr., Indianapolis News
1961Ray Crowe, Indianapolis Crispus Attucks HS
1960Jake Caskey, Indiana School for the Deaf

The Joe Boland Service to Youth Award is given to someone who has "given back" to serve Indiana's youth. It is given occasionally by the ISSA.

Distinguished Service Award

2010Lee Kelly, New Albany
2011Ted Throckmorton, Jeffersonville
2010Pete Rosenthal, Lafayette